About Rona Ambrose

Rona Ambrose is the Leader of the Official Opposition, Interim Leader of the Conservative Party of Canada, and Member of Parliament for Sturgeon River – Parkland, Alberta. She was first elected in 2004, and has been re-elected in 2006, 2008, 2011, and most recently in 2015. When she was appointed Minister of the Environment in 2006, she was the youngest woman to be appointed to Cabinet in Canadian history. She served in Cabinet in a variety of positions continuously from 2006 to 2015.

Ms. Ambrose is particularly proud to have served as the Minister for Status of Women from 2010 to 2013. In this position, she worked tirelessly to address the problem of violence against women and girls. She led Canada’s call for an “International Day of the Girl” at the United Nations to help raise awareness of the discrimination faced by girls, as well as their tremendous potential. The House of Commons unanimously supported a motion put forward by Ms. Ambrose to have Canada lead this international campaign. The resolution designating the International Day of the Girl was adopted by the UN General Assembly on December 19, 2011. Canada celebrated the first International Day of the Girl on October 11, 2012.

In her earlier years, as an undergraduate student, she volunteered at the Victoria Sexual Assault Centre, and what she saw there had a profound impact on her life.

She met women who had been targeted because their attackers were confident they could get away with it. She met young women – some students, some not — who were violently assaulted when their date wouldn’t take “no” as an answer. And she met young people – both women and men – who had been violated by the very family members who were meant to protect them.

These experiences continue to drive Ms. Ambrose to make an impact in the lives of women and girls, in Canada and around the world.

À propos de Rona Ambrose

Rona Ambrose est la chef de l’Opposition officielle, la chef intérimaire du Parti conservateur du Canada et la députée de Sturgeon River—Parkland, en Alberta. Elle a été élue une première fois en 2004 et a été réélue en 2006, 2008, 2011 et, plus récemment, en 2015. Quand elle a été nommée ministre de l’Environnement en 2006, elle était la plus jeune femme à être nommée au cabinet de l’histoire du Canada. Elle a occupé divers postes au cabinet de 2006 à 2015.

Mme Ambrose est particulièrement fière d’avoir été ministre de la Condition féminine de 2010 à 2013. À ce titre, elle a travaillé sans relâche pour répondre au problème de la violence envers les femmes et les filles. Elle a dirigé l’appel du Canada pour la « Journée internationale de la fille » aux Nations Unies afin de sensibiliser le monde à la discrimination envers les filles, et à l’immense potentiel de celles-ci. La Chambre des communes a soutenu à l’unanimité une motion présentée par Mme Ambrose pour que le Canada dirige cette campagne internationale. La résolution désignant la Journée internationale de la fille a été adoptée à l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies le 19 décembre 2011. Le Canada a célébré la première Journée internationale de la fille le 11 octobre 2012.

Quand elle étudiait à l’université, elle faisait du bénévolat au Centre pour agressions sexuelles de Victoria. Ce qu’elle y a vu a eu des répercussions profondes sur sa vie.

Elle a rencontré des femmes qui avaient été ciblées parce que leurs agresseurs savaient qu’ils allaient s’en sortir. Elle a rencontré des jeunes femmes, certaines étudiantes et d’autres pas, qui s’étaient fait violemment agresser parce que leur compagnon refusait de se faire dire « non ». Elle a aussi rencontré des jeunes, filles et garçons, qui avaient été violés par des membres de leur famille qui étaient censés les protéger.

Ces expériences continuent à pousser Mme Ambrose à changer la vie des femmes et des filles, au Canada et dans le monde entier.