Building Confidence

No sexual assault survivor should ever feel afraid to come forward with her or his case and seek justice from the legal system.

Right now, in the federal judicial system, there is a lack of transparency in how, and how often, judges are receiving training and education about how to preside over legal cases involving sexual violence.

Many Canadians may not realize that, should they ever find themselves involved in such terrible proceedings, there is no requirement that the presiding judge have specific training or experience in sexual assault law.

This has to change.

The Just Act will help rebuild trust in Canada’s judicial system when it comes to addressing sexual assault law.

The Just Act will:

  • Require any lawyer applying for a position in the Canadian judiciary to have first completed sexual assault case training and education.
  • Require the Canadian judiciary to produce an annual report that details how many judges have completed sexual assault training, how many cases were heard by judges who have not completed the training, as well as a description of the courses that have been
  • Require a greater number of written decisions from judges presiding over sexual assault trials, ensuring the cases receive adequate consideration.

Given the unique tendency of these cases to expose personal and private information of those involved – which only adds to the trauma of the original alleged crime – Canada’s judicial system must take extra care to ensure the proper application of the law in the first place.

This is about making our legal system fairer for everyone involved in these terrible cases.

We can take meaningful steps towards that goal by: ensuring new judges bring with them the training and education required to handle these matters with the sensitivity they require; making Canada’s judiciary more accountable for keeping judges up to date in this training; and by requiring more written decisions, to ensure the time, reasoning, and consideration required for the decision is respectful of the sexual assault survivor.

With these small changes, together, we can make sure all Canadians – and in particular sexual assault survivors – have trust in our justice system.

Bâtir la confiance

Aucune personne survivant à une agression sexuelle ne devrait avoir peur de dénoncer son agresseur et de demander justice.

Actuellement, il existe au sein du système de justice fédéral un manque de transparence quant à la fréquence et la manière dont sont formés les juges sur la façon de traiter des cas impliquant de la violence sexuelle.

De nombreux Canadiens ignorent que si jamais ils sont impliqués dans des poursuites aussi terribles, rien n’exige que le juge ait reçu une formation ou possède une expérience spécifique du droit relatif aux agressions sexuelles.

Ça doit changer.

La Loi juste aidera à rétablir la confiance envers le système de justice du Canada en ce qui a trait au droit relatif aux agressions sexuelles.

La Loi juste va exiger :

  • que tout juriste voulant faire partie de la magistrature canadienne reçoive d’abord une formation sur les affaires d’agression sexuelle ;
  • que la magistrature canadienne produise un rapport annuel précisant combien de juges ont reçu une formation sur les agressions sexuelles, combien d’affaires ont été entendues par les juges qui n’ont pas reçu de formation, et une description des cours qui ont été suivis ;
  • un plus grand nombre de décisions écrites des juges relatives à des procès pour agression sexuelle, assurant que ces affaires font l’objet d’une considération appropriée.

Compte tenu de la tendance unique de ces affaires à exposer des renseignements personnels et privés sur les personnes impliquées, ce qui ne fait qu’amplifier le traumatisme du présumé crime original, le système de justice du Canada doit faire particulièrement attention à assurer l’application appropriée de la loi en premier lieu.

Il s’agit de rendre notre système de justice plus juste pour toutes les personnes impliquées dans ces affaires terribles.

Nous pouvons prendre des mesures sensées pour atteindre cet objectif, notamment en assurant que les juges reçoivent la formation requise pour traiter ces affaires avec la sensibilité qu’elles requièrent ; en rendant la magistrature canadienne plus responsable afin que la formation des juges soit à jour ; et en exigeant plus de décisions écrites afin d’assurer que le temps, le raisonnement et la considération requis pour rendre la décision respectent la personne ayant vécu une agression sexuelle.

Avec ces petits changements, nous pouvons assurer, ensemble, que tous les Canadiens, en particulier les personnes qui ont survécu à une agression sexuelle, font confiance à notre système de justice.